Martin Luther King, Jr. Day


“I submit that an individual who breaks a law that conscience tells him is unjust, and who willingly accepts the penalty of imprisonment in order to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the highest respect for the law.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

I once had a math teacher who compelled all of his students to do something in honor of Martin Luther King on this day and not just think of it as a day off of school. He wanted us to read about his life, about the era, to try to understand where our nation was and where we are today. It’s a lesson I’ve kept with me and every year I try to take part of my day and dedicate it to the holiday.

I hope you have a thoughtful MLK day.

Here are two versions of Wake Up Everybody, the first is the original by Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes and the second is done by John Legend and the Roots featuring Common & Melanie Fiona. I don’t know if there’s any relation to Martin Luther King since the song was written almost 10 years after his death, but I feel like it speaks to the spirit of his movement. Enjoy.

John Legend & The Roots – Wake Up Everyone Feat. Melanie Fiona & Common

Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes – Wake Up Everyone

Leave a Reply

